There is a reference to an inn called the Three Doves in 1824, but an unnamed beer house might have been operating at the same site since 1796. The inn, on the banks of the Severn serving river traffic, was located to the north-west of Awre in a hamlet called Hamstalls. The Three Doves had closed by 1830. Perhaps its demise can be attributed to the opening of the Gloucester and Sharpness canal, which made the River Severn passage redundant. An isolated property called the Priory is at the site of the Three Doves.
In October 1987 the Priory was up for sale for £240,000. The particulars of sale stated that ‘there is documentary evidence to suggest the Priory was once used as a hostelry for vessels that used the Severn. The property still has a very extensive river frontage which is being developed by the National Trust as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty with a small lake and an area of oak, elm, beech etc – a major programme of work which will involve the owner no charge. The property enjoys some five acres of land and there are numerous outbuildings including kennels and a cattery. There are three terraced cottages with the property and stabling, all require updating.’
In 2018 the Priory was put on the market again for £850,000 described as a ‘handsome Grade II listed country house set in excess of four acres of rural countryside in a unique riverside location having the advantage of a superb outlook over the River Severn. The accommodation in the house extends to three spacious reception rooms, hall and study, kitchen/breakfast room and five bedrooms.’