It is thought that the Woolpack Inn has been a pub since 1670 and was once used as a staging post for the drays carrying fleeces from Bisley. It is situated in the picturesque Slad Valley and will be forever associated with the late author Laurie Lee and his book ‘Cider with Rosie.’

Book cover – Cotswold Pubs & Breweries by Tim Edgell. (Amberley Publishing, 2010)

The Citizen: Friday, August 2nd, 1991 – Novel bar: A new ‘Cider with Rosie’ bar has just opened in the Woolpack in Slad. The village is home to famous writer Laurie Lee who wrote the novel.

Laurie Lee used to regularly drink at the Woolpack and in the summer he would sit in the garden and use his mobile phone to order another half a pint (in a mug) of his favourite West Country PA. The landlord, David Tarrant, was instructed to let the phone ring twice and not pick it up. He would then have to take Laurie Lee’s beer out to him. A very privileged customer! Laurie Lee died in May 1997 – just a few months after West Country Pale Ale ceased to be brewed in Cheltenham.

David Tarrant was the pubs saviour in 1987 when the then owners, Whitbread, wanted to sell it without a licence and convert it to a desirable country residence. After twelve successful years at the Woolpack David sold it to Dan Chadwick.

The Woolpack Inn has had a long and successful association with the Uley Brewery and the excellent beers are on tap. Occasionally a beer called Laurie Lee’s Bitter is available. 

This is where Laurie Lee was finally put to rest, in the graveyard overlooking his favourite pub – the Woolpack.

This page will be updated with additional information.

Map reference: SO 872073

Licensing Details:

Owner in 1891: Elizabeth Bond (free from brewery tie)

Rateable value in 1891: £8.0s.0d

Type of licence in 1891: Alehouse

Owner in 1903: Stroud Brewery

Rateable value in 1903: £8.0s.0d.

Type of licence in 1903: Alehouse

Closing time in 1903: 10pm

Landlords at the Woolpack Inn include:

1856 Richard Bond (Richard died in 1877)

1885,1891 Mrs Elizabeth Bond (widow)

1903,1906 George William Davis

1919 William Tilley

1927 Thomas H. Smith

1939 Stanley Hy. Hinton

? Richard Covington

1983 Aubrey Covington

1986-1999 David Tarrant

1999 Dan Chadwick

2002, 2003  Richard and Hilary Bolton

2007 Joe Reed

2008 Jonathon Byford

Share this Page: