10 Gloucester Street in 1919 directory. The present day address is 8 Gloucester Street. The White Lion closed in 2008 and the building is now residential.

Advertisement November 1999.

Wilts and Glos Standard, 22nd November 2001 (advertisement) – Celebrating 15 years: Excitement is building at The White Lion Inn, Gloucester Street, Cirencester, as everyone gears up for Roy Cordon’s 15th anniversary of landlord of the inn. Roy actually began his career as a publican at this charming 17th century inn, where the emphasis is on family-run friendliness with superb home-made food at realistic prices. He is one of the longest standing licensees in Cirencester and is also a member of the successful BOBS (Behave or be Banned) scheme.

Just a short walk from the town centre, The White Lion boasts a thriving bed and breakfast side to the business. Just recently two of the rooms have been converted into delightful four poster rooms, ideal for honeymoon couples or anniversary celebrations.

The White Lion offers something for everyone, with its non-smoking restaurant, home-cooked meals with daily specials and easy access for wheelchair users. There is also a widescreen television for live football and rugby games and, whilst the game is on, customers can enjoy special bottled beer promotions.

The welcome you will receive will be second to none, the food outstanding and you will be sure to want to visit again. Roy, his family and staff would like to thank all their valued customers for their support and loyalty throughout the last 15 years and hope that there will be many more to come.


July 2006


The White Lion closed in 2008. The building is now in residential use.

Licensing Details:

Owner in 1891:  Cirencester Brewery

Rateable Value in 1891: £20.15s.0d.

Type of license in 1891: Alehouse

Owner in 1903: Cirencester Brewery

Rateable Value in 1903: £20.15s.0d.

Type of license in 1903: Alehouse

Closing time in 1903: 11pm

Landlords at the White Lion include:

1820,1830 William Slatter (White Lion Tavern in 1830)

1840, 1856 William Roberts

1885,1891,1903 Frederick Pace

1906,1927 Edward Moreton

1939 Charles White

1986,2001 Roy Cordon 

Share this Page: