The Plough is situated in Barton Street close to the cross. The property extends as far as Swilgate Road to the rear where there was once stabling for the hotel. The Plough was purchased for £3,000 in 1897 by Showells Brewery. In the 1919 Kellys directory it is listed as the Plough Hotel. The building is 17th century. It is recorded that from 1644 to 1646 the Cordwainer’s Society held annual feasts at the Plough.

Courtesy ‘The New Plough’
Courtesy ‘The New Plough’
Courtesy Michael Wilkes

During the Second World War there was a public air raid shelter at the Plough Inn that could accommodate seventy persons.

It traded as the Faust and Firkin in the late 1990’s, part of the Firkin Brewery chain (but there was no brewery at the pub). The Plough went through yet another transformation to appease its trendy young clientele and was called Hoolahan’s, but then reverted back to the Old Plough.

The impressive upstairs room at the Theoc House

After a prolonged period of closure it was announced in the Spring of 2022 that the pub to reopen again under the sign of the New Plough.

April 2022
May 2022

Map Reference: SO 894327

This page will be updated and refreshed with additional information.

Licensing Details:

Owner in 1891: James Turner (free from brewery tie)

Rateable value in 1891: £26.0s.0d.

Type of licence in 1891: Alehouse

Owner in 1897,1903:  Showell & Co., Oldbury, Staffordshire

Rateable value in 1903: £112.0s.0d.

Type of licence in 1903: Alehouse

Closing time in 1903: 11pm

Owner in 2005: Punch Taverns

Phone: 01684 284359

Landlords at the Plough / Faust & Firkin, etc include:

1774-1779 Hannah Hyatt

1779-1783 Elizabeth Hyatt

1783-1807 Thomas Morton

1807-1808 Mary Hyatt

1808-1809 William Churchman

1809-1820 Thomas Churchman

1820,1830 Kenmell Wheeler (Kinmill Wheeler in 1830 directory)

1832 Mrs Wheeler (widow)

1837 Benjamin Sylvester

1837,1868 Thomas Freeman

1871-1882 William Westfield

1882-1897 James Turner

1897 Frederick William Bridle

1897-1898 Hugh C. Metcalfe

1898-1901 W. Fouracre

1901-1902 Rose Fouracre (widow)

1902 Robert William Fourance

1902 E.J. Spires

1902-1904 William George Foster

1904-1905 Arthur William Allard (died 1905)

1905 George Herbert Shephard

1906-1922 Philip Pembridge

1922-1923 Harry Stevens

1923-1925 Mary Alice Fletcher

1925-1933 Mrs Helena Jepson

1933-1936 William Rooker

1936-1937 Henry Griffiths

1937 Arthur Walker

1937-1938 Joseph Norman

1938-1942 Henry Jeal

1942-1944 Richard Comins

1944-1946 Alan Clark

1946-1947 Walter Gardner

1947-1952 John Preston

1952-1963 Horace Dunn

1963-1968 W. Gregory

1968 Cyril Woodcock

1998 Faust & Firkin

2002 (Dec), 2003 Dominic Jacombs (Hoolahans)

2005 Dawn Flanagan (Old Plough)

Share this Page: