Originally numbered 88 but now 166 Southgate Street.

Once owned by the Brimscombe Brewery (Smith & Sons) it was subsequently sold to Georges Bristol Brewery. The Nelson Inn then passed into Courage Brewery ownership. In the 1990’s it was an Ushers of Trowbridge tied house. The Trowbridge brewery, however, closed down in 2000. The owning pub company, Pubfolio, was based in Trowbridge.

The Nelson Inn has distinctive green tiling. This image was taken in March 2013.

Paul Gregory took over the running of the Nelson Inn in the summer of 1998. He told the ‘Citizen’ that he thought the pub had a resident ghost. He said that drinking glasses that he had put down for washing were mysteriously turned upside down over night, while on another occasion glasses were smashed in the middle of the night when the pub was empty.

It was announced in November 2020 that the Nelson Inn was to be converted into residential flats, following acquisition by Clark Holdings. The development included the refiguration of the ground floor with the removal of the internal bar and the construction of three one-bedroom ground floor flats within the premises. There were no plans to alter the ornate green tiled exterior. The conservation officer at Gloucester City Council said: “The Nelson is not a nationally designated listed building it is however considered to be a locally listed non-designated heritage asset due to the important Edwardian tiled façade. In general terms the closure of the public house is regrettable, however should planning consent be agreed the proposed restoration of the tiled façade should be conditioned so that it can be considered an enhancement to the Southgate Street Conservation Area.”

Landlords include:

1820 (Nelson’s Head Inn)

1830 Joshua Thomas (Lord Nelson, Littleworth)

1856 Mrs J. Gainer (Lord Nelson Inn)

1859 Jane Gainer

1879 J.W. Preece

1885 John Henry Kilminster

1893 Mrs A. Davis

1902 Edward Sutton

1906 James Hogg

1907 Mrs A. Davis

1919 Daniel Cove (see Mount Pleasant Inn, Winchcomb Street, Cheltenham)

1927,1939 William A. Summerhill

1957 W.E. Williams

1998 Paul Gregory

2002 Jamie Wier

2005 Roy Hill

200- Tony Searle and Natalie Jenkins

Share this Page: