The Jovial Foresters was on the lower slopes of the Nailsworth valley, not far from the A46. The Cotswold stone pub was once whitewashed but the paint has since been removed. The whitewashed exterior can be seen in an early photograph of the pub where Sidney Smith is credited as landlord on a sign above the front door.

Courtesy Nailsworth Town Archives
The Jovial Foresters (far left) and the Star Inn (right). Courtesy Nailsworth Town Archives
Courtesy Nailsworth Town Archives
Image: Gloucestershire Echo
Courtesy Nailsworth Town Archives

Mrs Cecilia Sophia Smith was a long standing licensee at the Jovial Foresters who retired in 1947 at the age of 90 having spent 44 years as the genial hostess. The Stroud Brewery Courier of December 1947 reported that ‘Mrs Smith and her two daughters have taken particular interest in the Forest Green Football Club, and will be greatly missed by the Club, and the villagers generally.’


A feature in the Gloucester ‘Citizen’ newspaper on 28th October 2005 began with the words: “There are few pubs around these days that can honestly say they are traditional, but the Jovial Foresters fits the bill. A small inn, overlooking the Nailsworth valley, it harks back to the days when you would be treated as though you were a guest in the landlord’s own front room.”

The Jovial Foresters enjoyed an excellent relationship with the nearby Forest Green Rovers Football Team.

The Jovial Foresters is now permanently closed.

The Jovial Foresters in 2020 (Nailsworth Town Archives)

This page will be updated with additional information

Map Reference: SO 842006

Licensing Details:

Owner in 1891: George Playne, Forwood Brewery, Minchinhampton

Rateable value in 1891: £11.5s.0d.

Type of licence in 1891: Beerhouse

Owner in 1903: Stroud Brewery

Rateable value in 1903: £11.5s.0d.

Type of licence in 1903: Beerhouse

Closing time in 1903: 10pm

Landlords at the Jovial Foresters include:

1891 Thomas Gage

1903 Frederick William Edwards

1903-1947 Sidney and Cecilia Sophia Smith

1948 T.C. Stockwell

1988 Tony & Sandra Flack

2000 Matt Doddington

2005 Craig Daly

Share this Page: