The Jovial Collier was located in a row of picturesque timber framed houses, which survive to this day. The Jovial Colliers was an ale house and had an annual rateable value of £12.10s.0d. in 1891 and 1903. It was tied to the Forest Brewery and closed at 10pm.
Citizen: June 1890: Littledean Police Court – George Barnett, labourer at Mitcheldean, summoned for drunkenness at the Jovial Colliers, Mitcheldean, had absconded, and the case was adjourned.
The Jovial Colliers seems to have closed soon after 1906. In 1948 the building was in use as a bakehouse.
Landlords at the Jovial Colliers include:
1856 J. Merriman
1876 Timothy Moore
1885 James Kibble
1891,1906 James Phelps (in 1901 there is a reference to E. Phelps)