The Huntsmans House Inn is now simply known as the Huntsman.

Image courtesy Paul Best (Facebook)

The Gazette, October 1998 – A warm welcome at The Huntsman: For a quiet drink and a delicious meal in relaxed country atmosphere, The Huntsman in Falfield offers the perfect choice. Owned by brewers Whitbread, the establishment has recently expanded its menu to offer one of the widest selections of pub food in the area. The menu offers an extensive range of tasty food at good value prices.

Togrther with house specialities, highlights of this new exciting menu include hot salad platters, delicious seafood, haddock platters, cheese ploughmans, vegetarian meals, sirloin and rump steaks and combos. From bangers and mash to tandoori chicken balti, the establishment has a reputation for food of high quality. After a delicious main course, customers can choose from a mouth-watering selection of desserts.

As a Whitbread-owned pub, the selection of beers is extensive and includes four real ales. The establishment contains two bars – one with a large, comfortable dining area, the other with a pool table, darts and Sky TV.

Manager Mel Wld from Plymouth, who has run the pub for over two years, promises a warm welcome and excellent service and emphasises that his pub is a pub for all age groups. Other atractive features of the establishment are a large car park and beer garden. The pub is situated off the A38 in Falfield near junction 14 of the M5.

October 2009

What Three Words /// punk.conveying.pasting

Licensing Details:

Owner in 1891: Sir Geo. S. Jenkinson (leased Arnold Perrett & Co., Wickwar Brewery)

Rateable Value in 1891: £54.0s.0d.

Type of licence in 1891: Alehouse

Owner in 1903: Sir George Banks Jenkinson  (leased Arnold Perrett & Co., Wickwar Brewery)

Rateable Value in 1903: £36.0s.0d.

Type of licence in 1903: Alehouse

Closing time in 1903: 10pm

Landlords at the Huntsmans House Inn include:

1885 James Organ

1891 Charles Whitworth

1902 William Barnett

1903 William Barrow Barnett

1906 William May

1919,1927 Alfred J. Slump

1939 Wilfred Bracey

1998 Mel Wild (manager)

2007 James Thomas

Share this Page: