The Fleece Inn / Kites Nest was on the junction with Bath Road and Dudbridge Road.
The Fleece Inn changed its name to the Kites Nest in 2005. ‘Rock the Kitesnest’ began in September 2006, a monthly event which showcased local rock bands.
When this page is updated there will be more details of the live music events at the Kites Nest and an account of its ultimate permanent closure.
Map Reference: SO 840042
Owner in 1891: Stroud Brewery
Rateable value in 1891: £12.15s.0d.
Type of licence in 1891: Alehouse
Owner in 1903: Stroud Brewery
Rateable value in 1903: £12.15s.0d.
Type of licence in 1903: Alehouse
Closing time in 1903: 10pm
Landlords at the Fleece Inn / Kites Nest include:
1885,1891 Jane Hewlett
1902,1906 Samuel Richard Smith
1919,1927 Mrs Ethel J. Nicholls
1939 Walter W. Spencer
1998 Christine Pearson
2005 Nicholas Foster (Fleece Inn)