Now known as the Beaufort it is still trading and is a vibrant village pub. The present landlord, Mark Steeds, is enthusiastic about the heritage of the old breweries of Gloucestershire and beyond and has some interesting items of pub and brewery memorabilia displayed in the pub.
The 17th century Beaufort was the Gloucestershire CAMRA Pub of the Year in 2004.
The pub’s sign depicts the nearby Somerset Monument, an imposing 100 feet tower, built in 1846 by Lewis Vulliamy in memory of Robert Henry Somerset who was a general at the Battle of Waterloo in 1815. Robert Henry Somerset was a nephew of the sixth Duke of Beaufort.
Map reference: ST 778869
Owner in 1891: Arnold Perrett & Co. Ltd., Wickwar Brewery
Rateable value in 1891: £14.10s.0d.
Type of licence in 1891: Alehouse
Owner in 1903: Arnold Perrett & Co. Ltd., Wickwar Brewery
Rateable value in 1903: £16.0s.0d.
Type of licence in 1903: Alehouse
Closing time in 1903: 10pm
Landlords at the Duke of Beaufort / Beaufort Arms include:
1885,1891 Martin Shipp
1902,1903 Frederick Millard
1906 Sl. Burnell
1919,1927 Joseph V. Powell (Beaufort Arms)
1939 Frank Arnold Tazwell
1994, Present Day – Mark and Fiona Steeds