The Aurora Inn was at the far end of the Abbey Almshouses, near Tewkesbury Abbey. It probably took its name from Aurora passage. The earliest mention of the Aurora is in 1869, but was in existence before that date presumably operating under a different name. The building is 500 years old! The Tewkesbury Brewery owned the small beer house in 1891. The Aurora was the first building in Tewkesbury to have an automatic flushing device installed in its toilets but, surprisingly, the surveying department from the town council insisted on its removal. The Aurora failed to meet the requirements of the local justices and was referred for compensation, closing in 1917.

The row of cottages where the Aurora was located was renovated during 1969 – 1972. The large fireplace, which was originally a feature of the public bar, was also restored. The fireplace has room for two persons to sit inside the stonework.  It is now the local office of David Billingham & Partners, Solicitors. (Buckles Court, 39 Church Street).

From ‘Tewkesbury Pubs’ by B.R. Linnell (1972, Second edition 1996)

As a poor beerhouse this was an easy victim for the Compensation Act. It boasted a massive stone inglenook visible today in the rear of the National Trust shop in Church Street. It had two claims to fame in its day: “The stick without an end that grew on the battlefield” and the other was the first automatic flushing toilet in the town. The nature of the first is open to speculation. The second attracted the attention of the Town Council who sent the Borough Surveyor to look into it. When they were told that it flushed regularly whether used or not, they demanded its removal on the basis of waste of water. It was not a new house when first recorded in 1869.

Licensing Details:

Owner in 1891: Tewkesbury Brewery

Rateable value in 1891: £13.0s.0d.

Type of licence in 1891: Beerhouse

Owner in 1903:  Arnold Perrett & Co. Ltd., Wickwar Brewery

Rateable value in 1903: £23.0s.0d.

Type of licence in 1903: Beer and Cider licence

Closing time in 1903: 11pm

Landlords at the Aurora include:

1869  Charles Buckle

1869-1879  Samuel Mayall

1879-1889  Alfred Mayall

1889-1897  Charles Henry Joyner   

1898 Henry Broadwell

1898-1899 A. H Price

1899-1901  John R. Black

1901-1902   J. J. Pointin

1902-1903 Algernon W. Neale  

1903-1904  Catherine Crisp

1905  Mary Ann Ford

1905-1906  Horace Barnes

1906-1910  Henry Halford

1910-1912 Horace Barnes (B.R. Linnell)

1910-1912  William Smith

1912-1913  Herbert Watkins

1913-1917 John Jarvis (or Jervis, B.R. Linnell)

Share this Page: