The Anchor Hotel is an 18th century coaching inn that first opened in 1774. It continues to trade on the corner of the High Street and Quay Street. The date 1774 is prominent on the pub sign. The ground floor façade of the Anchor dates from 1921, refurbished by the Cheltenham Original Brewery.

The interior of the Anchor must, at one time, been quite impressive with several rooms. Brewery ‘improvements’ have since seen the Anchor transformed into a large single bar pub. In the mid 1990’s the pub had a complete change of identity and was known as ‘Greens’ but, thankfully, this was short lived.

Image: Gloucestershire Echo
November 2009


A sensitive refurbishment followed in 1996 when some of the original character was restored. A decorative bar window and a West Country Ales ceramic plaque grace the frontage of the Anchor. Unfortunately only one etched window now survives – one was vandalised in 2008.

Licensing Details:

Owner in 1891: Cheltenham Original Brewery

Rateable value in 1891: £40.0s.0d.

Type of licence in 1891: Alehouse

Owner in 1903: Cheltenham Original Brewery

Rateable value in 1903: £48.0s.0d.

Type of licence in 1903: Alehouse

Closing time in 1903: 11pm

Owner in 2000: Whitbread Pub Partnerships

Owner in 2004: Enterprise Inns

Landlords at the Anchor Hotel include:

1774 -1793 George Sandilands

1793-1805 Francis Sandilands

1805-1807 Charles Moore

1807-1815 Thomas Bloxham

1815,1820 James Ward

1830 William Moore

1838-1840 William R. Crowe

1840-1845 Richard Watson

1845-1846 James Dee

1846-1847 Richard Davis

1847-1848 Joseph Gainer

1848-1852 William Brooking

1852, 1856 Mrs Martha Hatch

1852-1858 Joseph Pugh

1858-1868 Thomas Ward

1868-1879 James Thacker

1879-1880 Elizabeth Bayliss

1880    ? Lymes

1881-1882 Mrs Houghton

1882-1888 Edmund Roberts

1888-1891 Florence Oliver

1891-1900 Mary Dauncey

1901-1902 W.J. Perks

1902-1903 John Evans

1903-1904 Rose Fouracre (widow)

1904-1907 Mrs Elizabeth Watton (also listed as Jane Watton, a widow)

1907-1908 Isaac Budden

1908-1912 Frank Ireland

1912 Louis Bach

1912-1918 Arthur Collins

1918-1921 Mrs Florence Collins

1919 Edward James Oakley

1921-1926  Albert Winkles

1926-1928 Harry White

1928-1932  Walter Blight

1932-1935  Henry Byrd

1935-1938  Thomas Mott

1938-1947  Beatrice Mott (widow)

1947-1949  Arthur Mustoe

1949-1965  Gertrude Mustoe (widow)

1965-1971  Clifford Adcock

1971-1972 Charles Hadfield

1972  Colin Durrant

1995 (Traded as Greens)

1997 Cindy Perkins

2000,2002 Kay Ratcliffe

2004 Aubrey and Dawn Hann

2002,2008 Dawn Harding

Share this Page: